Toothpaste Alternatives

It’s been over 6 months since I’ve used “regular toothpaste”. There are many reasons for this, but the most important reason was because I found out some chilling information about the effects of Fluoride to the human body.

Fluoride causes all sorts of problems and ultimately, people should steer clear from it. It’s added into various things and even added to our water supply in various states. However, I’m not going to go into much detail, but I really advise you all to do your research!

Anyway, I’ve tried various different toothpaste alternatives and I am still searching for my “perfect” one because I have specific needs.

You see, I noticed that the bottoms of my two front teeth are just a little translucent and my teeth are really sensitive to cold foods and beverages.

As such, I’ve been searching for a Fluoride free toothpaste alternative that will do all of the following:

1) Clean my teeth
2) Help with sensitivity
3) Rebuild tooth enamel.
**Whitening power is a PLUS, but it’s optional.

I know it’s a tall order, but i’m determined to find it! While I haven’t found the perfect one, I have found some really awesome stuff that are really worth checking out.

Baking Soda

Yeah, just regular old baking soda. You can use it by sprinkling it on your tooth brush or you could make it into a paste with a bit of water. Some people prefer to make it a paste using coconut oil.

All of the above methods are acceptable. However, the coconut oil is antibacterial, and I felt that it helped make my teeth feel a lot smoother and cleaner.

It’s EXCELLENT for whitening your teeth (over time).The baking soda alone is good for getting rid of bacteria that causes bad breath.

However, it doesn’t do much for rebuilding enamel or helping with sensitivities.

I don’t recommend this as an alternative to toothpaste. Instead, I recommend it as an alternative to teeth whitening.

Get yourself some tooth trays at the pharmacy, Walmart, or even dollar stores.

Make a paste with a little water and fill the tray with it. Keep it on your teeth for 10 minutes at a time, and you will notice a difference over time. You could even just brush your teeth with it a couple of times a week and follow up with a Hydrogen Peroxide/water mixture as a mouth wash. It really whitens your teeth!

Activated Charcoal

This is also great for getting rid of bacteria, and helping with bad breath. The best thing about it is that it whitens your teeth. Jeff and I both noticed a change after the first use!

You can get it in powder or just get the capsules and break them open. You can sprinkle it on your toothbrush and brush with it..

I wouldn’t recommend this as a toothpaste alternative because it also doesn’t do much for sensitivity, or rebuilding tooth enamel.

However, this is THE BEST whitening alternative that I’ve tried. Brush it on to your teeth for 5 minutes and you should be able to tell a difference after the first use… I’ve been using it daily. I will continue to do so until I reach my desired level of whitening. After that i’ll just maintain it by using it a few times a week.

Its the best! Seriously, I’m telling you – IT’S THE BEST!

If you get it in capsules, then you can also use it as a supplement to help draw out toxins from your gastrointestinal system.

Dr Christopher’s Herbal Gum and Tooth Powder

This stuff is great! It’s an herbal powder and I’m not going to lie, the taste does take some getting used to. Personally, I added some cinnamon to cut the taste and add whitening powder.

This stuff leaves my teeth feeling extremely clean! It gives you this tingly clean feeling that Jeff and I loved.

It’s supposed to be great for gum disease. While we don’t have gum disease, Jeff and I did notice that our gums were alot healthier after just a week of using it. It even got rid of a toothache that I had from a wisdom tooth pushing out. I just patted the powder onto my gums and it was gone within minutes.

It helped with my teeth sensitivity. I was able to drink cold water with no pain after just a few days of using this toothpaste alternative! Awesome!

However, it was really annoying to clean off the leftover powder on the toothbrush. It made my brush really gross looking and I had to replace it. To remedy this issue, I just made it into a paste with coconut oil… Viola! No more problems.

Despite how great this stuff is, it didn’t do much for rebuilding tooth enamel. I used this for about two months and I didn’t notice any change in the translucent parts of my front teeth. My teeth are already pretty white and so i can’t tell whether it whitened my teeth or not. However, Jeff’s teeth did not become whiter. Still, I recommend this stuff for anyone who has sensitive teeth and gums! It’s great!

Earthpaste

I love this stuff! It is made out of Bentonite clay. Bentonite clay is excellent at drawing out impurities, heavy metals, and even pesticides. This toothpaste comes in a consistency that is similar to regular toothpaste. It also comes in different types of flavors. As such, I felt that it was an easier transition. It’s a lot easier than going from regular toothpaste to  herbal powders, that’s for sure.

I tried the cinnamon one because Jeff dislikes minty toothpaste. This stuff is great and leaves your teeth feeling smooth and clean. Jeff noticed the most improvement in his teeth. They are whiter and his gums look a lot healthier.

The only thing is that, AGAIN, I have not noticed any changes in my tooth enamel after 2 months of using this stuff. However, I would definitely recommend this as a great alternative toothpaste alternative.

My search continues and I am in the process of trying out another alternative. I’ll update in a few months and let everyone know how it goes.

 If you know of any good fluoride free natural alternatives to toothpaste that helps rebuild enamel, please let me know in the comments!

Thanks for reading

Mari

One comment

  1. […] projects are on hold, but we’ve got tons of new things to experience. Greetings from Utah! Toothpaste Alternatives Life is good… Letting go of our […]

Leave a Reply

