Tried Goat Milk and Cheese for the first time..

//

All of my projects are on hold until we get back from Utah. I’ve got alot of time on my hands… to pass the time, I have been reading a lot about livestock, and gardening. I daydream constantly about all the animals we’ll have in our homestead.

medium_7436428516Goats have always been on my list. It seems that most homesteading bloggers are always talking about how “great” Goats are as livestock. They go on about how awesome the milk tastes and all the wonderful benefits to drinking it -the more i read about how awesome Goats are, the more i grew curious about what this miracle milk and cheese taste like. Needless to say, I was ecstatic when i found some Goat milk and Cheese at the supermarket. 🙂

I know, I KNOW! Not the ideal place to get it from, but i just had to know. I didn’t even wait to unpack all of our groceries before i poured myself a double shots worth of Goat milk.

I really didn’t know what to expect and i was sadly disappointed. I’ve been lied to! It has this really weird bitter after-taste. I caught myself starring angrily at my cup of milk wondering what just happened to my taste buds and whether or not the farm who is providing this milk separates their goats.

I recall reading from several different sources that if you keep male Goats with female Goats the milk tastes bitter. Is that why it’s so bitter? I don’t know and it’s driving me nuts.

I really really wanted to like it.  I even tried adding the milk to my smoothies and while it helped mask that bitterness, it didn’t do much for the after-taste. Bleh!

The goat cheese was comparable to cream cheese in texture, but It also had that bitter taste.

On the flip side…

Jeff, who usually dislikes most things that are healthy, happens to “LOVE” Goat milk. He didn’t like the cheese, but I’m still jealous. Why not meeee? At first I thought he was just saying that he liked the milk to make me happy, but it was gone the very next day.

origin_4502903559

I really want Goats! They are so cute! I want them so bad that I often wonder whether or not i could force myself  to get used to the taste. I also obsess about whether or not those companies separated their goats. As such, i decided that i will probably give this thing ONE more try. However, the milk needs to come directly from a farm… A farm who separates their goats!

Am i the only one who doesn’t like Goat milk?

Thank for reading

Mari

//

One comment

  1. […] – More upcycled and recycled funiture! Interesting turn of events – I got a job! Tried Goat milk and cheese for the first time. Upcycled Bird […]

Leave a Reply

