New Blackberry Muffin & Blackberry Loaf Recipe

I haven’t done much this week, except for try my best and make it through these last couple of weeks at work.

Things have been getting hectic by the day. I suppose that everyone is just on edge because they are afraid of what will happen once I’m gone. My co-workers are all sad that I am leaving, but they know that it’s for the best.  Even the Doctors have started to tell me how worried they are about what will happen once I am gone.

It feels good to know that people are starting to see exactly how much I actually did for the office. I finally feel appreciated. For the past years, I really tried to be the best office manager I could be.

It feels great that they finally see and acknowledge my hard-work and effort, too bad it happens when I’m leaving.

I’m starting to feel nervous about the move, but I’m doing my best to keep my mind busy. I don’t have much to write about.

So, I figured I could do what one of my blog friends over at Heather’s Homestead blog, Heather, does a lot when she feels any type of way… She bakes!

I decided that I wanted to make something that I can eat for breakfast.

After tons of thought and strolls around the supermarket, I decided to try something new… I’ve never had Blackberry bread.

I wanted to use whole wheat flour because I thought it would be the healthiest route. However, from my experience using whole wheat flour, breads and muffins seem to come out a bit hard.

I was going to use a mixture of both whole wheat and white flour to remedy that situation, but then I remembered hearing of people using apple sauce in their batter to help soften things up and retain moisture.

So, here are the results:

Tasty Blackberry Bread and Muffins!

Tasty Blackberry Bread and Muffins!

Sweet, moist, and delicious Blackberry Bread and Muffins!
I’m so proud of my first original Muffin/Bread recipe!

Ingredients
  • 3 1/4 c Whole Wheat Flour
  • 3 C White Sugar
  • 2 TSP Baking Soda
  • 1 1/2 TSP Salt
  • 1 TSP Nutmeg
  • 1 TSP Ground Cinnamon
  • 1 C Vegetable Oil
  • 4 Eggs
  • 1 Cup Smushed Blackberries ( I only used this much because i wasn’t sure how it’d taste. Next time, I’ll use more!)
  • Organic Apple Sauce. I didn’t measure this. I just threw it in, but it was approximately 1/4 C.
  • 2/3 Cup Water.. A little more if the batter is too thick.
Instructions

Pre-heat the oven to 350 F.

Mix up all the ingredients until smooth. It takes a bit of elbow grease to get it to the right consistency – if you don’t have a mixer. Thankfully, I’ve got Jeff!

For Muffins

  • You can use whatever technique you want. I used baking cups because i just have a lot that i haven’t used. I could’ve totally used more batter in the cups, but i only filled them about 2/3rds of the way. Use a little more for a more muffin-y appearance.
  • Bake at 350 F for 19-20 Minutes.

For a Bread Loaf

  • You can use whatever technique you want. However, I lined a small loaf pan with parchment paper because it would be easier to get the loaf out.
  • Pour the batter into the pan leaving some space for the loaf to rise.
  • Bake at 350 F for 1 hour.
  • Make sure it cools completely before you cut into it!

 

Hope you all enjoy it as much as I did!

Thanks for reading.

 

 

2 comments

  1. Isn’t baking so helpful when you have feelings? That looks fantastic. I am totally going to have to try this recipe, Mari! Oh, and mixing white and wheat flour can work out pretty well. I did it on apple scones this morning. 🙂

    1. It really did help me feel better! I’ll try mixing both flours next time. I’m really glad that i came out as moist as it did with the apple sauce, though. ❤

Leave a Reply

