Down these mean streets

[ So, i did go out and  get some good footage of my neighborhood to show you all, but when i got home to edit it.. I ran into some technical difficulties. It’s been a nightmare trying to edit the video, but i am working on it. I’ve never done anything like this before – bare with me, I will post it soon]

Down these mean streets!

New York sure has a way to bring out the worst in people

Today, this patient walks in and signs in on the sheet for the Pain Management doctor. However, I couldn’t find her on the schedule. Once I looked in her chart, I realized that her appointment was actually scheduled for next Friday – not today. I thought she might have mixed up the dates – It happens. So, I called her over and told her that her appointment was actually for September 20th.

I wasn’t being rude, but she immediately snapped and replied with “Well, someone told me that they would squeeze me in for today! You better fucking add me on! I didn’t come all this way for this bullshit!”

What the hell?

That was totally unnecessary and made me sick to my stomach. It’s not surprising as the majority of people (here) act the same way. I’ve been putting up with people like her for most of my life. I usually don’t let it get to me. However, it’s gotten increasingly difficult for me to keep my cool. Even if I don’t say anything to them, it affects my mood for the rest of the day.

I hate feeling that way.I snapped the other day and It’s extremely out of character for me because I’ve never been a rude or confrontational person. I just can’t take it anymore. You can only put up with so much before you start firing back.

I hate the person they are forcing me to become.

You can be the nicest person and try your hardest to help a person out, but in the end, they will always try to get more out of you. You give them a hand, but they always want an arm and leg, too. It’s a dog-eat-dog world out here.

All I’ve ever wanted to do was help people – that’s why I joined the medical field. Yet, they make it so hard. Why?

In NYC, you learn early on to avoid people, walk with your head down or look straight ahead. You’d be sorry, if you happened to accidentally look at someone “the wrong way” – that’s a fight waiting to happen.

I know that other places aren’t like this because every time I travel, I feel weird when strangers greet me in the streets. I’m always so surprised at how nice and helpful everyone is. Why can’t people in NYC be like that too?

Although I’m really afraid of the coming move. I’m also glad that i won’t be walking down these mean streets any more.

 

2 comments

  1. Hahaha. I know how that feels. I’ve been to a few pain management clinics, and honestly, I have flipped off a receptionist or two, for not doing their job. I normally don’t do that but the medical profession with it’s in and out revolving door attitude towards patients and general healthcare of that patient leaves you soooo frustrated. Plus imagine coming from let’s say Manhattan all the way to Brooklyn, in a lot of freaking pain, only to be told that you came on the wrong day or blah blah blah. I know how that lady feels, it’s not okay by any means, but when it keeps happening…which has for me, that’s a problem. NYC’s medical clinics just don’t give a crap about the patients and then the patients fire back too. What’s that got to do with you? Idk. It’s both ends really…you’re right this city brings out the worst for both parties and people in general!!

  2. […] Peace of Mind Making plans for my new life Am i ready? Self-reliance and Homesteading – How?! Down these mean streets Weekend Get Away and Glimpse of Lala land 7 Things i should’ve known before i got my first […]

Leave a Reply

