Am i ready?

Yesterday, I decided to start applying to Jobs in Arizona. As I mentioned in my previous post, I really needed to keep myself busy, get involved, and meet new people as soon as possible to be able to adapt. The best way to do that, for me, is to get a job. I updated my resume, browsed Craigslist, Monster, and CareerBuilder. I sent over my resume to a couple of places that I thought were interesting.

I don’t really know if any employer is willing to wait a whole month and a half until I get out there, but I took a chance.

Today, I received a reply to one of my emails!  We are going to set-up a phone interview sometime soon. I’m not too excited about jumping into another full-time job. I really wish I could take a small vacation, but I need to make some sacrifices if I want to get out of debt as soon as possible.

It’s amazing how quickly things happen once you decide to take action.

Pushing Forward

I give myself a pat in the back quite often for my determination and bravery. I’m so proud of myself for taking action and going after what I want. However, I still have those moments where I get really scared and wonder if I’m making the right choice. I’ve decided to hush that voice inside of my head, and just keep pushing forward.

Beauty in the Concrete Jungle

Today, I found this really cool place in my neighborhood that I didn’t even know existed. It’s like a hidden “wilderness”. It’s nothing compared to actual wilderness, or what you will find in other less developed states. Still, I feel like that’s what made it so amazing.  It made me really sad to see that there was so much garbage everywhere.. There was a lake, but the water was really dirty. Later on, I discovered a pile of garbage in the water. 😦Green among the gray

I just sat there for a while and reflected on everything.

I saw ducks swimming in the lake! I didn’t even know we had ducks in the Bronx! It broke my heart to see what is left of nature in New York City.  This place must have been beautiful before all of this development happened.

Still, I really thought that this place was amazing for the simple fact that New York CIty is so developed that it is really difficult to find areas like these.

When I left this place and got back to “civilization”.. I felt like I saw everything with new eyes.

I could see the struggle in everyone’s eyes. I could feel the pain of the people. It’s not just me. We all feel trapped. Some people have it a lot worse than i do, and they probably see no end to their struggle. Everyday, working hard to make ends meet to just stay on their feet.

I think that this is why a lot of people turn to a life of crime and drugs. In search of an escape from this place. I am thankful that although i do not have much, i have everything that i need.

We were meant to live for so much more, but somewhere along the lines we’ve lost sight of what is truly important.

Still, I’ve lived this way for so long that I wonder… Am I truly ready to make the change from the city life? Will I be able to adapt?

I definitely have a lot of challenges ahead of me. However, I can’t dwell on them. I just need to focus on moving forward and just pushing myself.

I really want to share what I saw with you all. So, I invite you guys to come on a walk with me on Wednesday and experience New York through my eyes.

I’m just take a walk around with a camcorder and show you all around. Then I’ll show you the secret hidden wilderness.

One comment

  1. […] of Resignation Taking care of business A Miracle and Peace of Mind Making plans for my new life Am i ready? Self-reliance and Homesteading – How?! Down these mean streets Weekend Get Away and Glimpse […]

Leave a Reply

