Letter of Resignation

I woke up at 7:00AM to the usual blaring of my alarm. I sighed deeply as I sat at the edge of my bed. “I just don’t know how much more of this I can take,” I thought to myself. It wasn’t because I don’t like what I do or because I wanted to stay home. It was because I was fed up.

I don’t think that people at work know exactly how much I do for the office or just how hard I work. I am the office manager of the clinic. Therefore, I have to make sure that everything is running smoothly and that everyone is doing what they have to do.Resignation

However, we are under-staffed. This means that on top of all the work that I already have, I also have to help out the other girls with their work. If not, things would get chaotic. Yet, in the process of helping out, my work piles up even more. I also have day-to-day issues and projects that the doctors dump on me. I am only one person, and I just can’t take it any more. The job that I once loved, has become the thing I hate the most. While all of these thoughts played through my head, I remembered a Steve Jobs quote that I had read not too long ago.

If today were the last day of my life, would I want to do what I am about to do today?” And whenever the answer has been “No” for too many days in a row, I know I need to change something. – Steve Jobs

That was it. I got on my computer and typed up my letter of resignation. I’ve endured a year and a half of feeling this way because I HAD to. I was trapped in my lease and I needed to pay my bills – I had no choice but to push forward.

The other reason for which I stayed was fear. Every time that I’d get over the fear of “what if”, I’d have co-workers, family and friends telling me things like: “You shouldn’t just leave”, “You should think about it more”, “You should save more money”, “You don’t know what will happen”, and “You have to be rational”.  Sure, they were only trying to look out for me, but I would often get ganged up on and it would make me start to question my decisions.

Not this time. I’ve made up my mind. All of these doubts and worries just hold me back from doing what I want to do in life. Is life not more than just following the line? Life is too short to worry about what might go wrong.

If I have to life this life, I will live it the way that I choose to live it.  If I fall and hurt myself, I can always get back up. I will no longer let other people’s opinions run the way I live my life or keep me from doing what I want to do. That’s why Oct 4th, 2013 will be my last day at the office.

I am so happy that I have made this decision and I am so ready to ditch this place to start my new life!

Wish me luck!

4 comments

  1. Good luck! I hope everything goes well.

    1. Thanks for the support! I really need it. Some have already tried to discourage me from moving. Sometimes it seems like they WANT me to fail just so they can say, “I told you so.” It hurts, but i just remind myself that i need to do what is best for ME. I try to not let it get to me.

      1. I think a lot of people get discouraged from chasing their dreams in the name of “practicality” due to fear of failure, so with the best of intentions, they try to discourage us, so we don’t get hurt. Or at least, that’s the logic I use.

  2. […] Urban Breakout – What? A week left and still so much to get done Afraid of what is to come Letter of Resignation Taking care of business A Miracle and Peace of Mind Making plans for my new life Am i ready? […]

Leave a Reply

