DIY – All Natural Powdered Laundry Detergent

This weekend was exciting for my boyfriend and I, as it was our first time making laundry detergent. We had planned on making our home-made products after we moved to Arizona, but it just so happens that today is laundry day and we didn’t have any detergent left. We took this as an opportunity and made our own. I really wanted to make liquid detergent, but that takes a lot more time and effort. Therefore, we decided to start with powdered detergent.

We were surprised by how easy it was and we are very happy with the results. Also, it’s safe to use on HE machines because it is low in suds!

DIY-Laundry Detergent

These were all the ingredients used. Borax, Washing Soda, Baking Soda, and Unscented Ivory soap.

Ingredients

[The general rule of thumb is 2 parts Borax, 2 Parts Washing Soda, 1 Part Soap. However, I’ll list the amounts that I used on my batch. Baking soda is optional.]

  1. 2 Cups – Borax
  2. 2 Cups –Washing Soda
  3. 1 Bar – Natural Unscented Soap [ I used ivory, because that was the one my boyfriend brought back. You can use Dr. Bronner’s Pure Castille, or your own home-made soap(One of my next projects).]
  4. 1/2 Cup – Baking Soda (You can add as much as you think is necessary. I chose this amount because that’s the general recommended amount for laundry.)

Directions

  1. Grate the soap –  I don’t recommend using a food processor because the soap will clump together and get stuck to the sides. It will be really annoying to clean it out.  I Just used a regular old cheese grater.
  2. Combine the Soap, Borax, Baking Soda and Washing soda in a mixing bowl.
  3. Mix it well
  4. You’re done! Keep it in a air-tight container. I didn’t have one on-hand and i ended up storing it temporarily in an old butter container that i recycled

Use 1/4 – 1/8 cup per load. That’s it! It’s that easy, economical, and smells fresh.

Good luck and thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

